a meadow, a sitar, and a vial of absinthe in my bra

…are what I’d need to really complete this outfit. It’s a gorgeous day in Burlington, and I can see the lake from my dorm window. I feel fantastically bohemian. I took a long walk through the hill section neighborhoods and celebrated my last day of classes.

I got this dress for my fifteenth birthday, and it’s certainly been well loved. It’s a one-size-fits-all number my godmother plucked off a street vendor’s rack in Washington, D.C., and it fits me better than just about anything else. I’m classically pear-shaped, and, to my utter frustration, take a size 4-6 on top and 8-10 on bottom. That’s why I love halter dresses: the ties adjust to my medium-sized breasts (I’m a big B or small C) while the skirts skim over my generous hips.

I really love today’s bangles. I decided against a necklace because this neckline already has quite a bit going on, so I did it up with the bracelets.

    

         

I picked up a dandelion on my daily meander. It ended up behind my ear.

Yes, I took this in a drugstore bathroom. The muses find me where they will.

Dress: Fifteenth birthday

Skull bracelets: Christmas stocking

Orange baubles: Charlotte Russe, $6.50

Silver bracelet: Battery Street Jeans, $2

Belt: Battery Street Jeans, $2

Leggings: Urban Outfitters, $15

Sandals: Gaiam, $32 (These are an absolute godsend to my poor feet. The toe separators distribute my weight evenly and keep the pressure off my fallen arches and creaky ankles.)

Leave a Reply

