denimology

My noteworthy summer outfits have been more or less exhausted; I’ve been wearing mostly repeats for the past few weeks. I have, however, been availing myself of the nip in the air and testing out some fantastic autumn pieces (if only while bumming around the house: I overheat too easily to wear long sleeves in public before, oh, October). I’ve also been soaking up fashion-related literature: I discovered some provocative new blogs, and I spent this afternoon in bed with Vogue‘s glorious 900-page September issue. This fall I plan to debut some new styles that wouldn’t have been on my radar a few months ago.

I have never been a big denim connoisseuse, preferring dresses and tights to almost all else. Lately, though, I find that combination too safe. A template can be altered only so many times. So I am consciously embracing the tougher side of my familiar rockabilly mien. My mother handed down to me a thoroughly badass denim trench, and I can tell I’ll be wearing it on the regular. For today’s post, I pulled together a collection featuring the trench, my beloved spiderweb-print jacket, and a spectacular pair of jeans I found this morning in the bottom of a drawer.

This is a lot simpler than I’m used to. Integral to my current stylistic evolution, though, is a scaling back of accessories. Frilly dresses and lots of frippery just aren’t doing it for me right now. I’m into a bolder, cleaner, more mature look.

This is actually an autumn variation on a look I wrote about back in June. The pieces segue nicely, I think.

My favorite jacket of all time. It’s incentive to maintain my weight, because it fits me just right and hits my hipbones in the perfect place. It adds structure to the flimsiest pieces. Also, SPIDERWEBS. Need I even elaborate? ($5 at Battery Street Jeans. They have a surprisingly decent vintage goth collection. My skull necklace is from there, too.)

I mined this scarf from my mom’s closet.

I bought this dress for $5 a few months ago, wore it once, and promptly forgot about it. How could I have let myself forget? It looks fucking awesome on me, if I do say so myself. Reminds me of Kate‘s bombshell dress.

Behold the denim trench!

If you give me a pair of loafers, a big floppy hat, and a cocktail, a wormhole will open up and take you to the 1950s.

My best-fitting jeans, by far.

Claire’s has Halloween jewelry out! Incentive to obtain steady income, that’s for damn sure. (I have an interview on Monday.)

Comin’ for yo braaaaains….

My winter-clubbing-in-Montreal dress, repurposed as a sweater.

I’ve always been squeamish about denim on denim. Don’t they call it a “Texas tuxedo”? Lately, though, I’ve decided it’s forgivable if the pieces differ considerably in color and texture. This combination makes the cut.

“No jewelry? Who am I?”

…seriously, though, I like the simplicity thing much more than I thought I would.

3 Comments

  1. I’ve always liked simple, but intricate outfits that you loved looked cluttered on me, so I kind of learned to like what worked for me. 🙂
    I like these. Particularly the dress and the trench.

  2. That trench is a serious find. I bet you’ll be able to wear that all fall with just about everything. I love hand me downs from my Mom, they are a reminder that my mom wasn’t always such a mom, haha!

Leave a Reply

