anachronism in blue

I’ve mentioned before that I write poetry, and I also perform any chance I get. I frequently combine my interests by emceeing poetry slams around town. Burlington has a respectable arts scene. I brought out this dress to emcee last Friday night’s slam.

I bought it on sight two or so months ago. I couldn’t not own it.

I want to punk up this dress a little. I’ve been looking for grommets; I want to give it a corset back. Or maybe just safety pins.

I like old clothes that show their age. This dress is faded in places. It’s a size 8, but cut slimmer than some modern 4s. (It’s pretty tight in back; that’s half the reason I want to corset it up.) The fabric is stiff and old-fashioned and smells vaguely of canvas. I could be someone’s muse in this.

Jacket, Dress, Belt, and Necklace: Battery Street Jeans Hat: Gifted Boots: Handed down from Mom

2 Comments Add yours

  1. zabirasilver says:

    and i’d very much like to see it with studded shoulders or some such thing.

Leave a Reply

