the second-best day of the year

FIRST COSTUME OF THE SEASON, EVERYONE.

Today I’m Crystal Lil from Katherine Dunn’s Geek Love (a book I love so much I ought to get royalties for plugging it). Geek Love (“geek” in the second sense) is about a carnival-owning couple who decide, with the help of various fetal poisons, to breed their own freak show. Crystal Lil, the matriarch, is a showgirl worthy of Palahniuk or Easton Ellis – “kind of a Gypsy Rose Lee who bites the heads off chickens and drinks their blood”.

Of course I had to play her.

The best part of this costume is the fact that I already owned all the components. My wardrobe is that comprehensive.

Five of Lil’s freak children survive to adulthood; she pickles the ones who don’t and displays their tiny corpses in jars. In that vein, I thought the skull was a nice touch.

I just happened to own a water bottle emblazoned with a skull and crossbones. It was perfect for Lil’s poisons.

My usual pic editor was offline today. I had to make do with a less consistently decent one, hence the lower-than-usual quality.

I dressed like this for class and errands today. Costumes are nothing if you can’t commit to them.

One Comment Add yours

  1. zabirasilver says:

    i LOVE that top! ❤ !

Leave a Reply

