i scratched them myself

I just plain like creating things. Often the things in question are outfits. But sometimes, when I’m at my parents’ house and have a decent stove and lots of resources, they are homemade ravioli.

Ravioli are one of my favorite things to eat. I made my own once last summer, but I used rice flour, which didn’t cohere so well. Today I used plain old semolina. And this recipe, except I substituted mozzarella for some of the ricotta. I like the substitution. It makes them (the one I tested, anyway) appealingly springy and chewy.

Cooking is in my blood. My mom’s a baker and pastry chef; my dad’s an experimental gourmet who reads all the food magazines. By the time I’m their age, I’ll probably be as fanatical as they are.

Marinara’s on the stove. I’m about to go watch Martha Marcy May Marlene.

(Yes, the clock is fast. I don’t have time-traveling powers.)

Leave a Reply

