victory

As you’ll recall, I won a really kickass outfit in a drawing at Stella Mae.

Here’s the model’s take on it, and here’s mine.

contest II

The dress fits me closer than it does the model. I prefer that: it frees me up to add less structured accessories. A light wrap or shawl would look quite nice.

contest IV

I decided to play up the silver accents. I’m really pleased with how well the belt matches; it looks like it might have come with the dress.

I also pulled out a grey hat I used to wear far more religiously before I got my red one. It’s quite appropriate here, I think. It complements the outfit’s vintage structure.

contest III

This dress really hits the middle ground between casual and formal. With this hat, and a slouchy cardigan, I could theoretically wear it to class. If I fixed my hair and maybe put on some eyeliner, it’d be cotillion-worthy.

contest V

contest VI

contest VII

I love the back detail. Its location is convenient, too: I can still wear a bra!

contest VIII

contest IX

These shoes. These shoes. Now, I have very, very strict requirements for heels. I have some genetic bone defects – osteochondritis dissecans and pronated ankles, to be specific – and I can’t put my weight on the ball of my foot unless the heel is impeccably structured. In my almost two decades on this planet, I have found one pair of heels that fits this bill. As of today, I’ve found another. I’m an often unfortunately cheap person, and I resist buying individual items over $30. Maybe $45. These shoes retail for between $100 and $150, more than I would ever consider spending. But if their fit is any indication, you really do get what you pay for: I could walk downtown and up again in these heels with nary a blister.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

