anatomy and androgyny

I did a linkdump post before, back in July. That was a summary of influences on my current style; this one, I hope, will foreshadow things to come. Here are some looks I hope to attempt in 2013.

androgyny

Here’s the thing: my body isn’t androgynous. Far from it. That’s half the fun, though: androgyny, to me, isn’t middle ground. It’s the extreme ends of masculinity and femininity, combined. A boyish outfit, snug on my curves, is something I really want to try. Source.

corset II   corset III   corset IV   corset

There will soon be more corsets in my life. I’m partial mostly to the red and black ones, but I included the green one because I like the way it combines a demure print and an overtly sexualized shape.That’s most of the reason why I like corsets in the first place: I wear them with relatively tame bottoms and enjoy teasing the eye. Source 1 and Source 2.

fetish boots

Speaking of fetish gear! I’d wear these with a cute ’50s shirtdress and let the contrast speak for itself.

high-waisted shorts  high-waisted shorts III

I woke up one morning thinking of dressy shorts and high-necked blouses, and I haven’t been the same since. My ideal pair of dressy shorts would be structured cream-colored cotton, slim through the hips but voluminous in the thigh, with a button fly. If I can’t find them, I’ll just have to make them. I’d tuck my snakeskin blouse into them and wear a red belt. Too bad my hair isn’t long anymore – a topknot would look fantastic with this. Source 1 and Source 2.

middle earth map dress   ms. frizzle cosplay   ms. frizzle cosplay II   pikachu dress   space skirt

I’m really not a nerdy girl in the traditional sense – I’ve never been much for fantasy, gaming, or hard science. (I prefer a good horror film or psychological thriller: my favorite movies are Amadeus, Black Swan, and American Psycho.) That said, I’m a perpetual sucker for clothing inspired by books and movies (told you I was costumey), and I absofuckinglutely love Ms. Frizzle. I might feel a bit fraudulent wearing that map-of-Middle-Earth dress, but I’d get comfortable quickly enough just from the sheer brilliant novelty of the thing. Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, and Source 5.

red shirtdress   rose dress   vintage skirt   striped skirt   vintage dresses spider floral

If I’m certain of anything, it’s my love for well-structured vintage skirts and dresses. Especially in red. There’s nothing new to report here except that I hope to acquire more and design new ways to wear them. (The third shot looks like something I already own, honestly. I probably have most of the pieces. Maybe emulating and photographing it will be tomorrow’s project!) Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, and Source 5.

red skinny jeans

I owned red skinny jeans once upon a time. They didn’t fit very well (or at all, frankly – they were bunchy in the crotch and too short in the leg), but I was 15 and they were red and I thought I was the hottest shit imaginable. (I was just starting to wear red lipstick then. I had some semblance of style, but nothing I’d want to emulate now.) I’d like to find another pair and do it right this time. Instead of snow boots and a snarky t-shirt (keep in mind that I was FIFTEEN), I’ll do heels and a proper blouse. Source.

skull dress   skull dress II   skull dress III   skull dress IV   skull pants

Do I really need to explain? Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4, and Source 5.

vein tights

I have wanted tights like these for years. YEARS. I first had the idea when I was 13, and my friends and family looked on in horror. Who’s laughing now? Source.

(My ideal design would include ligaments and tendons too. To the drawing board!)

Leave a Reply

