not your grandmother’s lolita

You are now picturing your grandmother in full Loli gear. You’re welcome.

Once upon a time, I had a tutu that I wore at least once a week. I bought it the summer before my senior year of high school, and I wore it until I went to college, when I decided that I didn’t trust it to stand up to the elements while I bopped around town running errands. That said, I’m more comfortable now in impractical clothes than I ever used to be (I’m wearing heels now, perish the thought), and I think it might be time to dig out the tutu again. If Gabi and Franceta can do it, so can I.

I’m not yet fully satisfied with this look, but I’m still test-blogging the rudimentary version. Any and all suggestions welcome. I’d ultimately like to emulate Franceta’s take. She makes a short tutu ethereal and elegant rather than gaudy. However, I knew I didn’t have the means to imitate her fully, so I filed her inspiration away and went with a more urbane version. I feel like an off-duty ballerina.

lolita I

I’m home for Christmas break. It’s hard to take photos in my parents’ house. I have my apartment-bathroom selfies down to a science; it’s a little harder here. I did my best.

lolita II

Gold necklace and gold nails. Silver bracelet and silver ring.

lolita III

lolita IV

lolita V

lolita VI

lolita VII

I adore these shoes. They go with everything.

Note the cat’s shadow in the background. She was rocketing off the washing machine just out of frame.

lolita VIII

Tutu: Old Gold Jacket: Handed down from neighbor Shirt & Necklace: Urban Outfitters Shoes: Stella Mae Bracelet & Ring: Battery Street Jeans

Leave a Reply

