steampunk mcgee

I go back to Burlington the day after tomorrow. Out in the boonies, I haven’t been leaving the house much. Today, though, I went out poetry slamming, so I had an excuse to doll myself up.

I’m really not comfortable unless I’m dressed up. Tossing my shoes and slipping on yoga pants is an earned pleasure after a day of tights and bangles, embodied for a few hours at the end of the day. It’s never a constant. I can’t spend more than a day in pajama pants. It feels like taking canvas from a painter.

steampunk VII

steampunk I

This is a blouse/vest combination I used to wear in high school (usually in a costumey context, funnily enough). I must’ve been a senior last time I wore it, and I didn’t fill out the vest even remotely. It looked pretty masculine. I love how close it fits now. I referred to this concept a few posts ago: the contrast between a masculine outfit and a feminine fit.

steampunk II

steampunk III

steampunk IV

steampunk V

I didn’t crop these two because I think the background fits really well.

Anyone notice my hair is two inches shorter?

steampunk VI

Blouse & Vest: Bag sale Skirt: Battery Street Jeans Boots: Handed down from Mom Tights & Jewelry: Christmas

Leave a Reply

