witches need real lives too

First, an announcement. My computer’s battery kicked the bucket, and while it’s not a death sentence (I’ve ordered a new battery, and it should arrive by the end of the week), I’m stuck using my mom’s creaky spare laptop for the next few days. It has a webcam, but not a very good one, so my next few batches of photos will be grainier than usual. I’ve done my best to edit them, but I don’t have much to work with in the first place.

(I could always, of course, refrain from blogging for a while, but attention whoring runs in my blood.)

That said, I think the grainy look is actually an asset to today’s post. It makes me feel even more anachronistic, like I’ve sprung up from a fairy tale into three flesh-and-blood dimensions.

witchy XIV

witchy I

witchy II

witchy III

witchy IV

witchy V

The scarf might be a controversial choice, but I really like it. It seems, on the surface, to detract from the outfit’s simplicity and severity, but I think it actually magnifies it. The contrast is so harsh that the severity is accented. There’s a reason black and white is a timeless combination

witchy VI

witchy VII

witchy VIII

I’m pleased with today’s color scheme. I established my three thematic colors – black, white, and red – in the bulk of the outfit, and then went slightly askew with the accents: off-white boots, burgundy tights, and beige coat. It’s a tightly wound theme, and it allows me to go full renegade with accessories that don’t really fit at all: blue nail polish and bronze bracelet.

witchy IX

I bubbled the hem of one of my favorite dresses. I prefer it like this, as ragged as it looks. It adds a little drama to a very simple dress.

witchy X

witchy XI

witchy XII

Dress & Boots: Handed down from Mom Hat, Scarf, Necklace, Bracelet, & Tights: Various birthdays and holidays Coat: Old Gold

~

I’m a really big fan of spiritual/mythological themes. There’s always that one girl who’s a little too into the “earth mother” stuff, and that girl is very often me. I love Pyramid Collection and misty old graveyards and The Mists of Avalon, and I have about fifteen Waterhouse prints in my bedroom. Because today’s outfit makes me feel like Morgan le Fay, here’s a song in that general spirit:

Leave a Reply

