alice: the gritty reboot

My original title for this post was “queering the wonderland”. I let it stand for about half a second before diagnosing myself with a serious case of postmodernism. “Queer” as a verb? What’s next, “addressivity”? ”

You might remember that I wore this dress to my high-school graduation, going on two years ago now. I haven’t worn it much since then: I didn’t find that it suited my collegiate style very well. It’s long overdue for a resurgence, though. Today I’m enjoying my guise as a slightly punky Alice.

alice II

alice III

I like to believe the skull belonged to the White Rabbit. Times get tough down in Wonderland. Magical tea cakes only fill you up so much.

alice IV

alice V

I love the color of these tights. They play up the surrealism of the outfit by making me feel like an android. Or a gynoid, if you want to get technical. And since it appears to be PoMo Day here at Color Me Brazen, we’re gonna get technical.

alice VI

alice VII

alice VIII

alice IX

alice X

Vest: Richmond Food Shelf Thrift Store Dress & Bow: Old Gold Necklace: Battery Street Jeans Tights & Docs: Gifted

I’m getting my hair cut this week. I know exactly what I want, and I can’t wait to surprise y’all.

Leave a Reply

