the kishi school of psychedelia

Remember her? I think I read almost every Baby-Sitters Club book (quite a feat: there are almost 200) between the ages of 7 and 11. Looking back on them as a pretty-much-grown-up is hilarious: SO MUCH is wrong with the way these books portray, oh, everything, but I appreciate them for the rite of passage they represent to me and basically every female between 15 and 35.

Claudia was my favorite. Despite what the rest of the club said, she was waaaay more individualistic than that bitch Dawn. And her outfits put the q in psychedelic. I see no shame in admitting that she is one of my main fashion inspirations.

(Side note: if you read even a few of these books as a kid, drop everything and go check out the BSC snark community on LiveJournal. That site is my freakin’ HOMEPAGE.)

busy orange VI

For as long as I can remember, my parents have had a finger-shaped hook on the wall adjacent the wood stove. Sometimes you can see it.

busy orange VII

This outfit almost has too many colors. Almost. I think it works because both the the blouse and the dress have a base of white, which grounds the outfit.

busy orange I

busy orange II

I love the way this blouse accents my waist.

busy orange III

Boyfriend and I got fraternal-twin bowler hats at Old Gold’s $10 sale this weekend. His is tan. We are That Couple.

busy orange IV

These shoes remind me of snakes’ faces.

busy orange VIII

busy orange V

busy orange IX

Blazer, Blouse,& Shoes: Goodwill Dress: Plato’s Closet Hat: Old Gold Necklace: Battery Street Jeans Tights: Sox Market

This is probably my favorite song of late.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

