sixty years too soon

stripes and dots XIII

Despite the scads of bloggers I admire, my style almost certainly has more in common with the Advanced Style ladies’ than with anyone else’s. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I was “born in the wrong era”, because that statement always grates on me (please, tell me more about how you’d prefer typhoid and oppression to indoor plumbing), but I am frequently drawn to ensembles several generations too old for me. This often means that I trot about in styles and patterns identical to those of the grandmothers I pass on the street. Sometimes – yesterday in Goodwill, for example – we’re browsing the exact same racks, and often eyeing the same damn dresses.

When old ladies smile at me and my shoulder pads and garish prints, moved by recognition, and girls my age gawk and giggle, I’m always reminded of this:

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.

Especially the end:

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

When I am old, my dresses will be older. I will be wispy and creaky but still sharp underneath, and maybe my hair will still glow pink. I will be the garish harridan from the turreted house in the part of town that makes everyone skittish. I will sic my pet spiders on neighborhood children like a hag from Roald Dahl’s annals. I will show off my saggy tattoos.

Why not practice now?

stripes and dots X

stripes and dots VI

stripes and dots III

stripes and dots I

stripes and dots V

stripes and dots IV

stripes and dots XI

stripes and dots XII

stripes and dots IX

Dress & Scarf: Handed down from Mom Sweater: The Classy Closet Ring: Battery Street Jeans Glasses: Birthday gift from Josh

stripes and dots VIII

Why should I wait until I’m crotchety and incontinent to stop giving a single flying fuck?

4 Comments

  1. I like your new Halloween-y blog design! And my Grandma def has that poem on her wall. In like, a decorated shadow box.
    If you had to fight a granny over a thrift store dress, how would that play out? haha.

  2. I haven’t been here in a bit and I just love your new layout and design! As for dressing older I think it is fantastic! You look may have some older pieces but you seem to make it more youthful and fun! I think it is refreshing to come to your blog as you are yourself. I kind of get tired of some blogs with the same boring outfits! You Rock and I love your dress!

    Rebecca
    http://www.winnipegstyle.ca

Leave a Reply

