ultra clutch

sixties X

First of all, this photo summarizes my existence beautifully. Preening pose, colorful hair, moldering corpse in the background.

It says a lot about me that when I make a point of doing early-’60s chic, the resulting look is identical to what I wear day in and day out. I’m fully aware that I have a uniform. High-waisted skirt + colorful blouse might get old someday, but for now, if it ain’t broke by god don’t fix it.

Yesterday’s look was extra-authentic, though, thanks to the hair and makeup I was still sporting from my Owlhurst shoot that morning. The sheer blouse and skirt brought a bit of era-mixing to the metaphorical table. Overall, I’m satisfied with this look, even if it is fairly basic. I’m still embracing my inner grandma – I’m just dressing like she might’ve in her prime.

sixties II

sixties V

sixties VI

sixties VII

sixties III

All these colors work together so precisely that I feel like I’m wearing a costume. Like I’m playing a ’60s girl on stage and this is what the costume mistress has put me in, assaulting the audience with the most obvious possible semiotics of the era.

sixties VIII

sixties IX

sixties XIII

sixties XII

sixties XIV

sixties XV

Yesterday I wore this to my Owlhurst shoot. Josh, as you might recall, ended up modeling a bit. After we’d wrapped up and changed back into our own clothes, Erin tossed us a cloth bouquet she had lying around: “Let me take some coupley shots of you guys.” We gladly complied, and I’ve been looking forward to posting the results.

owlhurst june XXVI

Josh has the elfiest elf ears I’ve ever had the pleasure of nibbling on.

owlhurst june XXX

owlhurst june XXXII

Blouse: Yard sale Skirt & Pink Bracelet: Goodwill Belt & Necklace: Old Gold Gold Bracelet: Urban Outfitters Shoes: Gifted

owlhurst june XXIX

2 Comments Add yours

  1. wildflwrchild says:

    Such a cute outfit, and I love those photos of you and Josh! Too cute. x

    Melissa
    http://wildflwrchild.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

