grandma chic: dapper flapper edition

dye 006

Rachel‘s note accompanying my Etsy order. When I spotted this pink polka-dotted suit for a mere $20 in her shop, The Floral Prince, I pounced. The Floral Prince, by the way, is chock full of quirky clothes and all sorts of handmade items, and I highly advise y’all to browse.

Grandma chic indeed. All I need are some finger curls (which my gurl Hailey has promised to teach me to make), and maybe a scandalous flask hidden in my bloomers.

pink suit XI

My mom took most of these. She was into photography long before I was, and I think she’s pretty damn good.

pink suit III

I just plain feel my best when I’m swaddled in other eras and personae. It’s not about insecurity or needing to hide in the past: it’s about the sheer number of styles the past two thousand years of human civilization have seen. Hewing to the style mores of just the past decade seems terribly confining and, honestly, just lazy. So many fashionistas seem to forget or just plain disregard where they came from. The semiotics of clothing fascinate me: I can broadcast a completely different mood, dissolve into a completely different era, with just a few tweaks. Why wouldn’t I take full advantage?

pink suit VI

Really digging the contrast of grandma suit and visible sparkly bra.

pink suit V

pink suit VIII

pink suit IV

pink suit XII

pink suit XV

pink suit XVII

pink suit XVI

Suit: The Floral Prince Boots & Tie: Goodwill Tights: Handed down from Marissa Hat: Gifted

pink suit XIII

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

