psychobilly (qu’est-ce que c’est)

loligoth VII

Sometimes you just have to go full screaming loligoth.

Despite my frequently fluorescent appearance, I’ve long considered myself goth at heart. I feel most at home in the underbelly of the world, consorting with the macabre. Pondering death, and the attendant thrill in the pit of my stomach, makes me feel alive.

Goth was the first subculture I really identified with. I’ve since found less cliche ways to indulge my penchant for the dark, but I still smile on girls tottering down the street in towering heels and loligoth corsets. I cringe to remember twelve-year-old Skye thinking her Hot Topic kneesocks were the absolute height of MySpace cool, but sometimes I like to indulge her. This is how I desperately wanted to dress all through middle school.

loligoth II

loligoth III

So I went fully magenta. Bleach and all. You might recall that my hair used to be like this. I started phasing out the bleach about a year ago in hope of still having hair by the time I’m forty. I tried to get into more subdued hues, but I just never felt it. Hot pink is my natural color. I feel my very best topped by a mop of magenta. So after considerable deliberation and consultation with a hairstylist friend, I’ve started bleaching again. Feels so right.

loligoth V

loligoth VI

loligoth XV

loligoth VIII

loligoth XII

loligoth XI

loligoth IX

I bought these shoes when I was 11 to give me a height boost under a long dress I’d bought for Halloween.

loligoth X

Dress: Hell Bunny Shirt & Voltaire Necklace: Gifted Skull Pendant & Hair Bow: Battery Street Jeans Belt & Skull Necklaces: Old Gold Shoes: Dirt Chic Tights: Sox Market

loligoth IV

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Madame Qikas says:

    Curious, did you have a fading-color problem with your Eyeball Dress? I had the same thing after only one time washing 😦

    1. skye says:

      I haven’t, but I’ll let you know if I do. I just got this dress in May; how long have you had yours?

      1. Madame Qikas says:

        Ahh, I just saw this. I’ve had it ever since February. The color fade after only washing it once 😦

Leave a Reply

