i am skye, the great and colorful

fifties pink V

As y’all most likely know, I take great pleasure in heavy artifice. As much as I respect the natural world (I’m one hell of a mountain girl), sometimes I really need something patently unnatural. Blinding shades and sharp, stylized silhouettes. Sometimes I just have to embody kitsch.

fifties pink IV

“Holy shit, it’s my mother,” my mom exclaimed when I walked in dressed like this. I’ve always heavily resembled my maternal grandmother, but it became downright uncanny when I started getting into vintage, especially the nifty fifties. My mom’s been doing a lot of double-takes the past few months.

fifties pink I

Yesterday Josh and I drove down to New Hampshire to hit up Savers, which is basically a thoroughly pimped Goodwill with enough vintage to soil my panties. Josh, whose love of antiques rivals mine, makes a pilgrimage once a year; this was his first time taking me. For under $250, we stuffed the trunk of his car with costume pieces and fodder for my Etsy shop. And to my delight, I found this pink-and-white counterpart to my ladybug skirt. It was the first time I’d ever found a replica of an Old Gold piece in another store, though, which was fairly disillusioning. I suppose all idols must fall.

I feel like there should be an apostrophe in “Savers” and it’s literally making my skin crawl right now.

fifties pink VI

fifties pink III

My secret to endless flamboyance is making sure everything matches something. Pink and pink, metal and metal, cherries and cherries. I allow myself one “odd one out” per outfit: in this case, the necklace. I consider the shoes a neutral.

It says a lot about me that I consider red a neutral.

fifties pink VIII

fifties pink X

fifties pink IX

fifties pink VII

Blouse, Skirt, Belt, Brooch, Necklace, & Sunglasses: Savers Headband: Goodwill Shoes: Danform

fifties pink XI

There’s something so wonderfully artificial and plastic-y about hot pink and bright blue.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

