skulls on skulls

skulls XII

As I bounced down the street in my cheap Spirit Halloween finery, an irrationally angry girl yelled “FREAK!” at me from a passing car. I have to say, I’m disappointed that was the best she could do. Scoundrel, slattern, harlot, blackguard, rapscallion. Someone needs ten vocabulary drills, stat.

skulls III

skulls IX

I really love creepy-cute. There’s something so adorably eerie about smoothing the raw edges of horror into something youthful and hyperfeminine. It’s a dichotomy that makes people look twice: “how cute…wait, are those skulls?” It turns the placid unsettling. I’m also a big fan of imbuing femininity with power, and few things scream “power” to me more than the macabre and the paranormal.

It’s also interesting how context influences and corresponds with individual items. Do the skulls make the dress macabre, or does the dress neutralize the skulls? It’s hard to parse the exact percentages, which makes the social response so interesting: what exactly are we reacting to? Is it just the shock value, or something more nuanced?

skulls V

skulls VI

skulls X

skulls XI

I think so much about clothes. Do other people think this much about clothes?

skulls XIV

skulls XVII

I love tightly wound color schemes with one real shock of variation.

skulls XVIII

The fickle weather turned some of these shots a little grainy. I kind of like it. It complements the pastels.

(That’s hair dye on my wrist. I don’t have the plague.)

skulls XXI

skulls XX

Dress & Belt: Old Gold Cardigan: The Classy Closet Necklace & Suspenders: Battery Street Jeans Tights & Shoes: Gifted Headband: Creative Habitat

skulls XXII

2 Comments

  1. Both your style of writing and fashion never cease to be entertaining and compelling! Keep up the good work (and please post more of your fashion-y goodness on Chictopia! I look to you as an inspiration!)

Leave a Reply

