the ol’ DTs

This marks the first in a series of posts exposing the best and brightest of the Burlington thrift scene. 2014 will be the year I get superserious about slow fashion and recycling garments, and I plan to use my blog not just for my own creative ends, but to highlight artists and locations I admire. This week’s edition features Downtown Threads, open 11-7 on Church Street.

dt II

Downtown Threads is significantly more curated than a lot of secondhand stores. Sure, you’ll find a solid few New Look dresses and ’60s shifts, but the store’s overall aesthetic is highly bohemian. Think flowing tops and big sunglasses. Think Aztec print, drug rugs, and vision quests. If you ever find yourself road-tripping across the western seaboard, yearning for the perfect complement to your Levi’s and water bong, you should probably turn that ‘stang around and hit up Downtown Threads.

Oh, and the cowboy boots. You mustn’t forget the cowboy boots. If it doesn’t look good with cowboy boots, you won’t find it in stock.

dt VI

 

Check out the most eye-catching of what Downtown Threads has to offer. I admit my own bias – so I’m not that into drug rugs. FILE A LAWSUIT – but I hope my collection might inspire someone, nonetheless, to get off the damn couch and investigate good ol’ DT. While the prices can be a smidge high, everything they carry is in excellent condition. They don’t take just anything off the street.

dt IV

 

dt collage I

 

dt V

 

dt XI

 

dt XXIII

 

dt collage II

 

dt XIII

 

dt XXII

 

A whole wall of LBDs!

dt collage III

 

dt XXI

8 Comments

  1. This place sounds like my jam! I’m always looking for more boho/southwestern chic items for my fashion shoots and I’d love to be able to poke around a shop like this.

    Brittney

    anotherbeautifulthing.blogspot.com

  2. I LOVE thrift shops and one resolution I made is buying at least 50% of clothing at thrift shops this year, let’s see if I can accompolish that.. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

