mrs. creepy pasta

creepy I

 

creepy V

 

Those of you who monitor my FAQ page have heard tell of my love for creepy pastas. For the uninitiated, creepy pasta has fuck all to do with any actual noodle dish. It’s a takeoff on “copypasta” (itself a takeoff on “copy/paste”), which is “internet slang for any block of text that gets copied and pasted over and over again“. Basically a text-based meme.

Creepy pastas are 21st-century gonzo horror. Gone are the days when ghost stories were handed down until they bore little relevance to their actual audience. You can only read about so many haunted Olde English bridges. The creepypasta phenomenon, like most other things net-based, brings horror into the realm of what’s actually scaring people in 2014. It’s more immediate, and therefore more visceral. What it really comes down to is the democratization of storytelling, something I’m all for. Art by and for anyone with a message to shout, regardless of access to traditional modes of expression. It’s why I love fashion blogging. Quoth this io9 article:

Creepypasta works best when the medium infects the message — in fact, when the messageboard infects the message, and you get a sense of the internet starting to talk about itself. Since these stories are shared on forums, why not use the direct and unliterary vernacular of the everyuser to tell your story, putting it as an anecdote?

My favorite method of ingesting this delicious, delicious pasta is via YouTube – specifically, Mr. Creepy Pasta and Creeps McPasta. Between the two of them and their dedication to recitation, there’s a story for almost everyone. Josh prefers parables, like “The Pickpocket’s Destiny“, and Lovecraftian eldritch horror, like “Yellow Raincoat“. I’m drawn mostly to dreams, mirrors, and time warps. Basically anything mindfucky, like “Tulpa“.

Which brings me to the real crux of all this explanation: if Josh and I were to make a YouTube channel reviewing our favorite creepy pastas, would we get any viewers? I’m not sure how much overlap exists between fashion bloggers and horror enthusiasts, but I’m hoping it’s at least a little. If you’re on my blog, it’s a good start. I’ve crowdsourced on Facebook already, with roundly supportive results. I’m hoping to draw fans from multiple corners of the internet.

Anyway, today’s outfit is a paean to the art and science of a good scare. Josh got me this dress for Christmas, but I’ve waited to blog it until I could truly find an ensemble to do it justice.

creepy II

The crackhead society dame rears her head again – except this time she’s gone even madder than before. You don’t want to know what that dress is stitched from…

I went for a spooky, Olde Hollywood, vaguely Hitchcockian vibe. I hope it shows.

creepy III

 

creepy ViII

 

creepy VII

 

creepy X

 

creepy IX

 

Dress: Rusty Zipper Coat, Fishnets, & Headpiece: Old Gold (snagged during their 50% off sale going on right now!) Brooch, Boots, & Necklace: Battery Street Jeans Belt: Downtown Threads Nails: Spirit Halloween

creepy XIII

creepy XI

 

creepy XII

 

creepy XV

 

 

4 Comments

  1. The colors in this outfit are fantastic! I need that coat! ❤ Dude, you should totally do Youtube. I think you have the right personality for it and you'll totally get views. 😀 If Leonard can do it about pizza (Community), then you can do it about pasta. Hehe. Oh and I sent you an email about your feature which will be posted later this week!

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Leave a Reply

