my one true valentine

fae VI

fae I

Excuse my lackluster setting. I loved this outfit too much not to grab a few snaps, so I made do with posing in front of and behind the herb store where I work. The entrance is basically a Hampshire College reject with an apparently vomit-stained sidewalk (says a lot about the quality of our herbs). Around back, though, is a haunted fairy cottage waiting to be discovered. I’d brave the interior if I didn’t fear unleashing Arachnageddon. Not everyone loves spiders as much as I do.

Anyhow, this outfit is the perfect segue into one of my favorite subjects. It’s a sartorial tribute to my favorite fictional character of all time .

maleficent

Pathetic likeness, I know. I didn’t think I could actually measure up.

Maleficent has been my favorite character in anything ever since I first wheedled my parents into letting me watch Disney movies at the age of four. I loved her sleekness and her fire. I loved the way her moods proudly occupied the whole damn room and forced the plebes to their metaphorical (sometimes literal) knees. It’s funny, because I consider myself a peaceful person at heart. I am a committed pacifist, and I don’t like indulging much anger in my personal life. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking: Skye? Blood-‘n’-guts, glitz-‘n’ glamour Skye? I’m hardly a hippie. Still, though, my attraction to the underbelly comes fundamentally from awe at this whole mad mass we call a world. I want to seize it all. I want to make room for everything. Darkness is part of that, but it’s by no means the core.

I admire the hell out of people who are unflinchingly dark. Who truly feel alive with rage and bloodlust and don’t fear it the way I admit I do. Maleficent embodied that for me before I had the language to articulate it. Or maybe I just liked her outfit. Who the hell knows? Don’t overthink a good thing. Point is, little Skye had Maleficent swag up to here. Collectors’ edition Barbie doll, a painfully detailed Halloween costume my mom sewed for kindergarten me, too many dragon plushies to count. At some point I fell temporarily off the deep end and bought a tissue box with her face on it. In middle school, my scads of fanfiction eventually wrought themselves into a coherent backstory. My dissection of her history, 150 pages plus, still languishes on my computer. There might’ve even been an actual crush on her somewhere in there. I still maintain that she’s the face of my heteroflexibility. I’ve got a preemptive free pass from Josh in case she ever somehow comes to life.

fae X

You can imagine my reaction to the news of her live-action debut later this year. Understand that I have been following this movie for years now. Hints of it were first whispered in 2011, and I combed the internet for spoilers. Now that the release date grows ever closer and the trailers come thick and fast, I’m having a hard time not hyperventilating a lil bit just writing this post. It’s not unwarranted to call this movie the culmination of my entire childhood. Ask anyone who knew me way back when: I was obnoxious about Maleficent.

Plus, it’s coming out on May 30, 2014, six days after I turn 20. The sixteenth birthday of my love for Maleficent. Coincidence? More like LIZARD PEOPLE. Let’s hoping I can see it before the sun sets.

fae VIII

I’ve been reviewing the trailers on Facebook, to decent acclaim. How would you guys feel about me featuring said reviews here every so often? Check out this one and let me know.

fae IX

fae II

fae XII

Blouse: Battery Street Jeans Petticoat, Tights, & Socks: Spirit Halloween Belt, Hat, Shoes, & Scarf: Gifted

fae XI

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hailey Douglas says:

    Dat blouse, tho.

Leave a Reply

