pastiche of primness

suit X

The power to carve your own niche might not feel like much, but it’s so damn integral. To muddy the lines and mingle with every station feels as basic as survival. This is why I’m a fashion blogger. This is why I couldn’t live in this skin without flooding my tiny world with color and texture. I can dress my way into anything. I can play up or down any quirk that I choose. Lena Dunham said in this month’s Glamour that using her body as a prop in her art gives it worth. As vacuous as I usually find Lena Dunham, I thought that particular line said everything I’ve wanted to say about fashion and modeling and then some. Use what you’re given to become anything you want. Be an androgynous glam rocker or a sideshow queen. Be.

suit VIII

 

suit VII

And in this suit, I’m my Advanced Style self 20 years too soon. I’m my old crackhead-society-dame standby. I’m a collegiate Miss Frizzle. I like making people dizzy, (usually) metaphorically speaking. This suit is as prim as it gets, but those tights are pure unadulterated middle-school chintz. I wore this outfit to the library, where I browsed the horror section and selected two books about sociopathy. Is it too self-indulgent that I really like not being pinned down? I am a pagan horror enthusiast in a vintage suit, no more or less one than the others. And I want to be all of me.

suit II

 

suit IX

 

suit V

Suit & Brooch: Battery Street Jeans Blouse: Dirt Chic Socks, Shoes, & Hat: Gifted Tights: Clothing swap

suit XII

suit XI

 

suit XIII

3 Comments

  1. I loathe to be pinned down, and take a certain pride in not being what people think I am! Who cares if it’s self indulgent…but I don’t think it is…..
    I love this prim suit, and the brooch, it appeals to the Mrs Slocombe in me! XXX

  2. Boxes and labels are loathsome things, I don’t think it’s self-indulgent at all to not like being pinned down, I think people are very interesting. Your prim suit is a delight, look at the button covers! x x x

Leave a Reply

