vengeance: the repinkening

pink IX

pink III

pink X

I feel more like me than I have in months. Pink is my natural hair color. I feel like a rockabilly Cruella de Bright.

pink XI

I just love pulling a dress from a pile or rack and seeing that good ol’ “ILGWU” stamp on it. The International Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union operated from 1900 to 1995. Their signature instantly adds to a garment’s appeal. It’s a clear indication of history – see Kristina’s post on dating ILGWU labels. The pink confection above features a gray-blue label, making it ~50 years old. I also feel honored to wear something made to last, under ethical conditions, by women sneering at convention and earning their own living. That, and it’s pink. Everything I’d like my style ethos to embody.

I want clothes made with pride and worn with pride. Is that so much to ask?

pink VII

pink XII

pink XIV

Dress: Battery Street Jeans Socks, Shoes, & Belt: Gifted Scarf: Junktiques Brooch: Savers

pink XV

 

6 Comments

  1. I love it when I find legit labels in my vintage clothes-it makes them so much easier to date and find history on. This pink number is astonishingly pretty!

  2. I always automatically love clothes with that label, too! Ha! It instantly upgrades their appeal to me!
    (Thank you for linking to me!) This dress looks SO perfect on you. And I know how you feel about pink; red is like that for me. I feel renewed and invigorated, and I think it’s my true color!

Leave a Reply

