it’s my goddamn birthday

on

XII

I visited my ancestral stomping grounds for my 20th-birthday dinner. Sponge cake and homemade dumplings, which I’ve requested for the past, oh, twelve birthdays. Spend two hours making fifty dumplings, and they’re gone in twenty minutes. I could weep tears of soy sauce.

IV

VIII

III

V

I wonder how one’s birth date affects one’s life. I grew up craving the semiotics of spring – lilacs, freshly mown lawns – at least in part because they meant I’d soon get cake and presents. What if I’d been born in midwinter? Would I crave snowdrifts? Would I be less inclined toward seasonal doldrums?

I

V

VI

II

XI

IX

Today I’m getting my fourth tattoo! T-minus three hours.

X

Photo cred to my mom, who underwent major surgery on my behalf exactly 20 years ago!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Melanie says:

    Happy Birthday!

  2. Sonya Mann says:

    Happy freaking birthday! I would love some dumplings.

  3. Jake says:

    THAT DRESS EEEEEEEEE!!!!! You beauty queen. Love love love. Hope your birthday was magic!

  4. superstyleme says:

    Happy birthday 🙂

  5. stylecrone says:

    Happy Birthday! You have a beautiful blog. Very creative and colorful.

  6. Happy belated birthday! I love your birthday outfit!
    http://theleatherfannypack.com

  7. Anna says:

    Yaaaay! Holy fuck, man! Happy belated birthday! You look beautiful <333

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

  8. Nice way to celebrate! The outfit and the “rays” of sunshine!

Leave a Reply

