sun shower

I

Things about this dress:

1) I bought it last weekend at Getup Vintage in Montpelier. Josh and I were in town for the day; Getup was my “pleeeeease, I’ll just be a second” right before we left. “Not that I mind,” he said, “but I think you have that exact same dress already. Several times over.”

Let me establish that I do not, okay? But this dress does combine components from some of my favorite dresses. It’s the all-in-one I didn’t know I needed.

III VI

2) I always get a subversive little kick out of looking like a ModCloth darling before ModCloth was a thing. This dress is the genuine article. Its Getup Vintage tag said “50s dress”, which the seams and zipper placement corroborate. Maybe I look exactly the same from the outside, identical in my tweeness to hordes of other bloggers, but I take pleasure in feeling the history light me up and knowing I’m keeping something alive.

IX IV V

3) What even is my style anymore? What is this “minimalism” you speak of? Hell if I know. All I can say is that fashion is my pet artistic medium. I don’t have a style so much as a passion for just plain wearing stuff. Whatever strikes my fancy. Whatever I decide I want to express.

XIII VII VIII XI

4) My campers love my outfits in the way that only little girls with zero filter possibly can. According to one of my more precocious kids,  this particular dress is  a “neapolitan sundae”.

This girl also described the archetypal “model look” as “like you’re watching someone try to escape from a box”, so you know. Take that as you will.

X II XII

1 Comment

  1. Lmfao. I feel like that exact situation you described has happened to me. Everything just blends in for dudes. They think if they’ve seen one dress, they’ve seen them all. Bah. Anyway, you look amazing (and you’re probably tired of hearing me say that heh) and I just LOVE your shoes! ❤

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Leave a Reply

