my tacky manifesto

tacky I

I love ugly appliqued sweaters and other such monstrosities usually found on six- or sixty-year-olds, nothing in between. I love garish prints and clashing accessories. I love head-to-toe matching, I love it when my hair and my lipstick almost go together, and I love wearing ten shades of the same color. I love looking simultaneously like an eccentric matron and her prissy kindergarten granddaughter, and I especially love the private knowledge of my tattoos and slutty underwear beneath the Peter Pan collars. The assumption of reticence and sexual repression dogs twee femmes wherever we go, but I can hoot and holler with the best of ’em.

I love red lipstick and Disney villain eyebrows with every. single. outfit.

tacky III

tacky XIII

I love bright tights that make my thick legs thicker and shoes that broaden my broad feet. Where others see lumps and stumpiness, I see bursts of triumphant color. I love bombshell vintage kitted out with gaudy Halloween-store jewelry. I love ratty flats peeking from under my petticoats, and I love it when they don’t even pretend to match. I am learning to love that I am more cute than sexy, that my round face is cheerful and droll. That my hair makes it only rounder, that my church-lady hats do not tamp it down. I love never having enough church-lady hats.

I am everything I am not supposed to be. I am Fashion’s worst and loudest nightmare, because I refuse to flatter my body at the expense of my soul.

tacky VII tacky II tacky X tacky XII tacky XI tacky VI tacky V tacky VIII

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Connie* says:

    You call your manifesto tacky. I call it profoundly wise.

    1. skye says:

      Thanks, Connie! I am often irritated by the attitude that flattering one’s body – i.e. looking either skinnier or curvier – should take precedence over artistic expression. Since when must art be “pretty”?

  2. Anna says:

    This is adorable ❤ Those socks!

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

  3. Marlen says:

    I love what Connie said. I’ve always admired how strongly unapologetic you are and just 100% you, come hell or high water. It’s crazy inspiring and makes you want to do better to not conform or crack under the pressure to be more normal. Internet high five ^5

    xo marlen
    Messages on a Napkin

  4. Melanie at Bag and Beret linked up to you – I am in deep admiration of you, your style and your badassery! Love!

  5. Oh wow! This is the first post of yours I’ve read and I am completely head over heels in love with you! I shall now go read every single other word you have written.

  6. buttercuprocks1 says:

    You are absolutely wonderful!!

  7. Gosh, I love you. I know I haven’t been commenting for a while (laziness, it’s a killer) but I adore your blog. Every single post becomes my new favorite. This is an old one, but I just read it (I’ve been stalking you this evening) and it is the best. thing. ever.
    xo
    Kristina

Leave a Reply

