the worst pies in london

XVII

V

Okay, so. So. Let me first stipulate that I’m not in love with how these photos turned out. I’d meant to do a full kitchen/razor/rolling-pin thing, but the walls in my kitchen capture light in a grainy way that gives photos that “taken with a webcam” look. The outdoor ones turned out fine, but they weren’t as true to the spirit of the character. Oh fucking well. Someday soon I’ll find a better kitchen backdrop and make Josh play my Sweeney Todd, because…

…even though the photos are mediocre, I LOOOVE this costume. For real. I don’t remember the last time I felt sexier. Post-shoot, I kept the corset laced until my lungs cried mercy. I just…I love this outfit, okay? It’s Victori-goth, but it’s got that unquestionable rockabilly something-something. Plus, I mean, corset.

X

This is my first actual bona-fide NOT-A-BUSTIER corset. $12 at Battery Street Jeans, baby. It was the last piece I needed to play my favorite theatrical leading lady. And play her I did. (One day, mark my words, I’ll play Mrs. Lovett for real. Just you wait. I know all her songs anyway.)

XIX XII

VIII VII XVIII III XVI

XV

2 Comments

  1. Oh my gosh, I love this! Mrs. Lovett is one of my FAVORITE characters, and I love your interpretation of her! That corset is gorgeously sexy.
    Ugh, I always hate indoor lighting; it never turns out as well as outdoor. my husband’s camera is pretty well equipped to capture indoor better, but I still dislike how it comes out. I hope you get a chance to do more Lovett pictures, because I want to see the full rolling pin/razor version!!

Leave a Reply

