velma as fuck

orange I

Josh got me this dress from Rusty Zipper Vintage for Christmas last year, but I don’t think I’ve ever worn it on the blog. It has always been, and will always be, my Velma dress. Not that Velma Dinkley herself has ever worn any such thing, but I prefer conceptual costumes to literal ones anyway. Essence of.

In googling Velma, I went on a minor Scooby-Doo wiki-walk. Apparently the show’s creators never intended to make Shaggy a ginormous stoner, and they “took umbrage” that anyone would interpret his character that way. Really? He’s explicitly a hippie, he’s constantly hungry, and HIS FAVORITE NAME IS MARY JANE. Maybe all that’s just a coincidence and the creators really are the thickest people on the face of the planet, but why would you “take umbrage” at a perfectly reasonable, canon-supported interpretation?

Something something death of the author blah blah.

…speaking of “death of the author”, this is a good time to mention that I’m enrolled in an advanced writing course for the spring semester! I’m officially a schoolgirl again. As though I needed an excuse to wear moar Peter Pan collars.

orange II

orange X

orange III orange VII orange VI orange IX orange VIII orange V orange IV

2 Comments

  1. You are seriously fabulous. I LOVE that dress, and that it kind of matches your hair, and that you found a red wall to pose with. This whole look is great. And it totally reminds me of Velma! I prefer conceptual costumes, too.
    I find it hilarious that they’re protesting Shaggy’s stoner status so hard. I mean, sure maybe they didn’t intend him to be an actual stoner since it’s a kid’s show, but he DOES act like one.

Leave a Reply

