his beardedness

j II

When Josh hasn’t trimmed in a while, as in these pictures, he tends more toward Chester A. Arthur than Simon Petrikov. Adorable nonetheless. The light on Saturday was criminally perfect, and he was wearing what he calls his “mad scientist vest”, so I couldn’t resist making him pose for me.

Also – how perfect would we be as Captain Hook and Tinkerbell? That’s right up there with Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett in “cosplays we were born to do”.

Side note: is anyone else annoyed by the snark directed at bloggers’ significant others? “Oh, he helps his girlfriend with photos – must be so whipped.” First of all, I take my own damn photos. Second of all, so what if Josh assists? God forbid partners support each other’s artistic endeavors. Note that the people who say these things are almost always the type to cultivate their girlfriends’ interest in sports or video games. Girls doing guy stuff = empowered. Guys doing girl stuff = henpecked. Pardon my vomit.

j IV j III

j VIII j VI j IX

j V j VII

CHAAAAAARGE!

2 Comments

  1. Who the fuck was talking shit, dude? That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard. There are blogger couples who take photos together! I really don’t see what the big deal is. Maybe the person is just feeling bad because she wished she had the help/support. I’m thankful for the days my partner decides to take my photos for me (especially in freezing cold weather!). He has a wonderful eye for it and I just appreciate the company. It can be kind of lonely and even a little scary to be in an alley by yourself, for example. I do a lot of alley photos, because they’re secluded (for the most part, I have my stories hehe) and I can be free to try poses and jump around and be silly without feeling like I’m being watched. Imagine how much better it is to do all of those things with your best friend? It’s awesome! I’m pretty sure that girl was just jealous. Way out of line, too.

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

  2. UGH. I hate the whole “whipped” thing. It annoys me to DEATH when my husband’s friends tease him about being “whipped” because he’s nice to me. SERIOUSLY. Once, when I was pregnant mind you, Nehemiah got up to go into the house as we were out on the lawn with some friends, and they’d downloaded this app that makes a whip sound when you lash it. So they all started pressuring me to ask Nehemiah for a cup of water when he got back so they could make the whipped sound when he went to do it. I soundly refused, because URGH. Just because a spouse/significant other is nice to his or her lover does not mean they’re whipped.

    I think it annoys me even more that I really don’t have a good response to shoot back. I always get annoyed when I don’t have a good snarky response to things like that. Sigh.

    ANYWAY! You and Josh NEED to be Tinkerbell and Hook! Please. For the love of humanity! Also, his style is just as great as yours and I love it! You two are pretty much perfect together.

Leave a Reply

