pastiche

I

V

I love dressing like a caricature of myself. Some retro girls are less obnoxiously Retro, with nuanced outfits less dripping in cliche than mine. Not me. Sometimes I want to look like I stepped not out of the distant past, but out of a garish ’80s editorial about said distant past. Sometimes I want to hit all the tropes in one: polka dots, peter pan collars, and several dozen petticoats.

II

Yup, that’s a broken foosball table. It appeared in my backyard one day, and I’m too lazy to move it. o.O

XV XIII

X VIII III XII IX XIV VI

 

 

5 Comments

  1. True story: back in the 1980’s I spent a Christmas in a hotel in Tokyo. The hotel staff left a little Xmas stocking on all of the doorknobs because the Japanese are adorable like that. And in the stocking was a little Japanese doll that looked almost exactly like you with the same red hat. So how about that.

  2. I think I am happiest when I have a real story going on in what I’m wearing. When I actually LOOK like I stepped from the pages of a vintage magazine, or just… I don’t know. There’s something incredibly satisfying about perfectly nailing the perfection of the 50’s or the Mod of the 60’s or the boho of the 70’s. I have been realizing because of Dressember that if I don’t have a character going on with my look, I’m not as happy. So I totally get what you mean.
    I would wear this. Well, maybe without the hat just because I don’t look as good in hats as you do and they end up coming off anyway because… too much hair… but otherwise: yes.
    OH! So yesterday while thrifting I found a cropped cardigan with cherries all over the front and I thought of you. I almost bought it, and then I thought maybe I should buy it for you, but uh… I found a few other things that swayed me because I only had $20 to spend and the bright orange dress I found was calling my name (and the plaid 1950’s schoolgirl dress, and the wool circle skirt…) But if I had an unlimited budget, I would have sent it to you!

Leave a Reply

