black polka dots, yellow florals, & way too much green

on

yellow II

yellow I

You know that one Seinfeld episode where Elaine is thrilled to be called “breathtaking” by a potential suitor, only to discover that he applies that word to literally everything? No one wants to be categorized with scrambled eggs and an ugly baby, but saying so makes you the asshole. You’ve seen that one episode, right?

That’s how I feel about my writing class.

yellow X yellow IV

It’s not that I think I’m the hottest shit around. But it’s hard to trust any critique when every. single. story is brilliant and amazing and a paragon of its genre. It’s hard to trust the eye of someone who has not proven any discernment whatsoever. I mean, I get it. We’re all terrified to be the class asshole. Better to keep criticisms light and praise flowing, lest your victims return the favor when it’s your turn. But there has got to be a middle ground between “this is perfect and you are a god” and “who told you you could write?”

yellow III yellow VI

And even if the story is brilliant – what makes it so? What does it stir? Where does the passion hit you? It’s the same failure mode as “everyone is beautiful” rhetoric: when everyone is beautiful, then by god no one is.

I’m leading the charge toward more exacting adjectives. Tell me my work is transcendent and chilling and it hits you somewhere so painfully atavistic you need to lie down for a while. Or tell me it’s maudlin and derivative and you need to go lie down for a different reason. Either way. Your perspective is valid. Articulate it.

yellow V yellow VII yellow IX

3 Comments Add yours

  1. These pictures are awesome!

  2. People tend to avoid confrontation in any form, including criticism. And constructive critique is not a bad thing! I appreciate constructive criticism, but people are afraid of giving unfounded critique (which I have also gotten, and uh… yeah, not so appreciated) so they just default to mundane adoration instead.

    And now, I need to go find a blouse I can layer under my short-sleeved dresses like this because… this whole outfit… I love. I can’t even pick my favorite part (well, maybe the yellow; yellow is quickly becoming my almost-favorite color aside from red…).

  3. Anna says:

    You are a breath of fresh air. I’m always looking for radical ways to mix colors and prints and this gives me so much inspiration (and courage!). ❤

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Leave a Reply

