red polka dots & orange stripes

on

redV

I love, love, love square-dancing dresses. I’m not sure exactly how this particular style came to be called so, but I love the immediate association with soft twangs and towering hair. Frills and poufs forever, especially on the first day of spring.

redI

A very eager girl approached me as I was shooting and asked to help. She didn’t seem likely to steal my camera, so I handed it over and she took the above shot. Pretty nice! Strangers’ reactions to my photo shoots have always been positive. I hear horror stories about deliberate sabotage and snickering behind backs, but that’s never been the case for me. Lots of staring, sure. But I’m kind of asking for that.

redVI redVIII redIV redVII redII redIII

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ooh, I love that.I’m wondering if square dance dresses actually WERE made to square dance (back when they actually had dresses for every occasion), or if it became a thing because swingy dresses are obviously more fun to dance in than non-swingy ones. I do know that there were dresses specifically made for square dancing, I just don’t know how that came about.
    That orange is really fantastic.
    I’ve only ever been approached maybe twice while taking pictures in public, and both times they were nice! Thankfully. I try to be as out-of-the-way as possible, because I don’t want to disrupt peoples’ pathways (I read about a girl taking up some serious space in a cafe just to do a blog post, and… yeah, no, that’s semi-rude) and also I don’t want to be noticed. I’m glad your public encounters have been good, too. Some people can be weird about this stuff.
    xo
    Kristina
    http://www.eccentricowl.com

  2. Madeline Besso says:

    Square dance dresses are so named because that style was enormously popular for squaredancing! My mum and dad used to square dance a lot when they were younger, so we have a bunch of old dresses and crinolines left over.

    1. skye says:

      I’ve heard that! What I don’t get is why that particular style became so associated with square dancing. Why so many frills/such shoulder padding? Not that I’m complaining. 😛

  3. Anna says:

    I love how happy you are here. It’s infectious. ❤ Love love love your dress, too!

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Leave a Reply

