pigtails, plaid, & neck tattoos

on

abVIabVIII

I realized upon titling this post that I actually have no idea why bloggers refer to their garments in the plural. After all, I have only one neck tattoo. I see it all over the fashion blogosphere: “yellow skirts”, “LBDs”, “vintage coats”. Maybe they’re sick of using articles for everything? Maybe they want to come across as more of an Everywoman: you too can ape my style! That’s some “army of clones” shit.

I think someone should do a sociolinguistic study of fashion blogging. Something like this Bitch magazine piece, but with a less judgmental slant. Let’s be real: there are some weird-ass conventions in this community, and I’m not entirely sure where they come from.

abVII

abXIV abIV

A few others I don’t understand:

  •  Why the perpetual pigeon-toeing? I do it because I have messed-up ankles, but I’m guessing not everyone does.
  •  Why so many pictures of food? Not that I’m maligning pictures of food. Food literally keeps me alive. It’s just odd to me that photographing food has become a Thing among fashion bloggers specifically.
  •  Why do people sign their posts “love”? Not to get all grinchy, but I don’t love my readers. At least not vis-a-vis their status as readers. I appreciate them, sure. (But I am fundamentally nihilistic and kind of robotic, so you should probably not defer to me on this one.)
  •  Why do people do that weird crouching pose? GOMI calls it “street pooping”, and I’m reluctantly siding with GOMI on this one.
  • Why is every other post set in a coffee shop or an abandoned building? (Looking at myself on this one. Abandoned buildings are awesome. But they seem to show up disproportionately.)

abVII abVabI

It’s not that I think tropes are evil. Even TVTropes says they aren’t. I’m not really a “stick it to the man” kind of person; I don’t think self-memeing subcultures are a bad thing. But I do encourage people to question where their affect comes from. Whether it’s something they’re deliberately cultivating, or something they’ve just sort of slid into. Sometimes I see bloggers who so perfectly hit every. single. mark that I just…wonder if they ever stop to think.

tl;dr self-awareness good

abII abXI abX abIII abXIIabXVIII abXV

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anna says:

    Hahaha. Ahh, yes. The poop stance. I don’t understand it, myself. I talked about it last Summer on my blog and, incidentally, I tried it out for all to see and enjoy. Hehe. It’s definitely a thing. Why? *shrug*

    Excessive photos of food kind of annoy me, too. One time, I visited a person’s blog to thank her for visiting mine and I was met with a food photo. I scrolled down to see if I could find a photo of what this person looked like, at the very least, but it was food photo after food photo with the occasional makeup thing or another. I ended up just leaving. I don’t wear much makeup and I don’t really know what to say about food. I mean food is good. I think we can all agree on that sooooo. I’ve not nothing of substance to add to that. Hehe. I still consider myself relatively new to blogging. So, while none of this sh*t makes sense to me, now, maybe one day it will. Heh.

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Leave a Reply

