the magic shoot

redVredIII

This is, hands-down, my favorite photo spot ever. Ever ever ever. I don’t use it very often, because variety and all, but every time I do, my shots come out looking baller and a half. Witness: here, here, and here. (Also witness: how long my hair has gotten! I stopped cutting it last year just before Halloween, and I can’t wait until it’s long enough for fancy Victorian updos.)

But seriously, this place. I live in an old mill town, and though most of the mills & attendant waterways have been refurbished, to serve as museums or shopping malls, a few have been left to crumble. This is one of them. It’s well enough preserved that I don’t feel like a bull in a china shop, but rundown enough to be interesting. There’s something ineffable here. The light is always perfect and the air is always crisp and I never get flustered or frustrated or drop my camera. Everything just…flows here.

My dress is vintage via Rusty Zipper. I’ve worn it on the blog before, but I’ve since modified it. I didn’t care for the original ’70s-tastic sleeves. My shoes are men’s loafers I dug out of a thrift-store dollar bin, and they are seriously the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn. You ever find something so comfy that wearing it in public feels like cheating, like you’re just waiting for everyone to notice you’re actually wearing pajamas? Yeah, these shoes. They’re practically slippers.

redI

Dress: vintage, via Rusty Zipper

Hat: old & beloved

Everything else: thrifted

redVIIredXVIredVIII redIV redXVIIredII redVI redX redIX redXV redXIV redXI redXII

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the change of the sleeves! It makes the dress so much more YOU. And this shoot is my favorite of yours too! That place is so cool. I wish I had a way to add more variety to my shoots, but life without a car in a semi-country neighborhood kills the variety. Oh well. There IS a graveyard nearby… I need to do a shoot there soon.

  2. Anna says:

    You look absolutely perfect. Perfect dress, perfect hat, everything! ❤

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

Leave a Reply

