attend the tale of toni todd

blueV

This past summer, I went to a local theater company’s costume sale and bought about 25 dresses for my Etsy shop, which I’ve only just gotten around to photographing (listings will be up sometime this week). I snatched up anything I thought might be remotely salable. The directors were thrilled to get rid of everything – they handed me a garbage bag and told me to go nuts. I promised Josh I was buying to sell, not to wear. Our apartment is only so big. But I’m keeping the hell out of this vintage Toni Todd dress I found in the pile.

blueVIblueXI

I’ve been waiting most of the summer to wear this dress. It’s really an autumn number. And it looks twee-in-the-best way with the saddle shoes I also picked up at the costume sale. It always delights me to find a piece with a label I recognize, a bit of history I already know. Toni Todd wasn’t a person but the name for the Misses division at R & M Kaufman. It was basically the fast fashion of its day, but you’d hardly guess that from its construction. I don’t want to be one of those “back in the day” curmudgeons, but…some things really just were better back then. Do you think a $20 J.C. Penney dress made today would ever last 50 years?

blueXIII

Dress: vintage, via costume sale

Coat: vintage, via brick-and-mortar store

Everything else: thrifted

blueXIV blueIblueIX blueIV blueVIII

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a cute dress, I love the hat too! 🙂

  2. Noelle says:

    It’s so much fun to find amazing pieces in non-traditional places. It’s a much better thrill than walking into the mall and picking out a dress on a mannequin. Plus, as you said, clothes today are not built to last.

Leave a Reply

