brace the sails to starboard

pbVpbXIII

I love open water. Love. I know r/thalassophobia is supposed to be nightmare fuel, but no – I browse it to bolster my dreams. The waves don’t scare me: the sea is a beast, but it’s a beast tamed by physicists and mapmakers. It knows the rules.

On Saturday we took a day trip to Plattsburgh, NY, just a ferry ride away, and neither of us wanted to disembark. A nautical affect makes Josh look even more like Captain Hook than he already does.

pbVIII pbXIV pbXIX

Dress: vintage, via brick-and-mortar store

Hat: vintage, thrifted

Everything else: thrifted

pbI

I’m fancy lately, even more so than usual. My hair is finally long enough for pinned hats and (pseudo) victory rolls. I always shift this way as the cold comes in: my sartorial desires become more “old-money matron” and less kooky!cute. But this year it feels like more. It feels, in a way it’s never felt before, like changing for good. I’ve been wanting to wear black lately. Black.

Not that I’m hurrying to pull a 180. But I do think my look might be evolving in some ways. I wore a cutesy dress last week and felt like I was wearing a costume. I think I’m fumbling, in my way, toward elegance.

pbIII pbIVpbXVpbXVII pbXX pbVI pbXIV pbVII pbXXIpbX

1 Comment

  1. You look beautiful! I think my style always evolves with each season — in the winter and fall, I wear richer, deeper red/orange colors and I am drawn to black or brown more, as well as more demure and retro looks. In the summer, I go for blues and yellows more, and more kitschy than elegant.

    You and Josh should do a Victorian photoshoot someday. Or if you ever come to my town, I will shoot it! It would be so fun!

Leave a Reply

