what do you do with a shrunken shirtdress?

coatdressI

You take yet another cue from Nora Finds and wear it over another dress. I’ve grown a cup size in the past year or so, which means this dress no longer buttons smoothly over my chest- not that it ever really did, if I’m being honest.  I’m loath to get rid of it, though. It’s such a lovely piece. But then I remembered Nora repurposing a button-up dress as a short-sleeved coat, and I decided to attempt it.

I’m not sure how much I like the result, honestly. Well, let me rephrase – I personally like it. Quite a bit, in fact. But I’m not  sure how much I can trust my enjoyment. I can’t tell whether it falls on the “eccentric” or the “utterly ridiculous” side of society dame. Nora does it perfectly, of course, but on me…I don’t know. What do you think?

coatdressIV

Coatdress & hat: vintage, thrifted

Orange plaid dress: vintage, via Soulrust

Boots: Kick on the Uptake Boot from ModCloth 

Everything else: thrifted

coatdressIIIcoatdressXI coatdressVIIcoatdressV coatdressIX coatdressVI coatdressXII coatdressIIcoatdressXIII coatdressXIV

3 Comments Add yours

  1. mooologies says:

    I love the shirt dress as a coat! 🙂

    http://theemeraldruby.com

  2. Mmmm it looks amazing? It’s not just me who can totally pull off two dresses at once? And you pick the perfect two dresses to match each other 🙂 🙂 LOVE IT!! And really babe you are too kind.. ❤

Leave a Reply

