casual friday

redfloralIX

Yes, I realize how out of touch I am with the average American when this is casual for me. That’s some Marie Antoinette shit right there. Something about this outfit feels distinctly informal, though. I think it’s the above-knee skirt. Lately I’ve realized just not me I feel in that silhouette. I have some lovely above-knee dresses, but I don’t think they suit the direction my style has taken. They’re too girlish. I don’t want to play the ingenue so much as the ingenue’s eccentric aunt.

So keep an eye out – I might end up selling a bunch of my above-knee dresses!

redfloralXVIredfloralXIIIredfloralXX

This dress was my first actual direct-from-ModCloth purchase – aka not from a swap group. I sprang for it during the 70%-off sale earlier this month, and while I don’t regret it exactly, I’m really not impressed with ModCloth’s quality. The bust and waist are square, with no tailoring to speak of, and loose in all the wrong places. The waist is a good two inches higher than my natural waist, which means that every time I raise my arms, the waistband rises right along with it. It sort of feels like a toddler dress sized up several degrees.

The fabric is excellent, though, and I do really love the print and the layered skirt. Plus, pockets! It’s hard to give up any dress with decent pockets. I might keep it and I might not – what do you think?

In other news, damn does my hair look fried. I didn’t realize it until I saw its frizzy, faded red against the bright red of this hat, but…wow. As much as it pains me to say, I don’t think I should bleach it at all this year. I’m sure I can find some red dyes that will work over my natural roots, but that does mean no pink in 2016. A moment of silence, please. But my hair will thank me later.

redfloralXIX redfloralX redfloralXXI redfloralXI redfloralII redfloralIII redfloralV redfloralXVII

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

