and now for something completely different

greygreenIII

This dress is unlike anything else in my closet. It’s a) not fit-and-flare, b) made of synthetic material, and c) from the ’70s. I mean, what? It’s long been on record that the ’70s are my least favorite fashion decade. It’s not anyone’s fault; it’s just what happens when you snarf acid like candy. Dear god, the pantsuits! Given that I’m not into the bohemian look either (give me polished or give me nothing), there really isn’t much for me in the land of pot and polyester.

Except this dress. For whatever reason, whatever goddamn rationale is hiding in my hatted head, I love this dress. It goes with anything, it hugs my hips just enough, and it’s the warmest thing I own. It’s not easy being a vintage queen in northern New England, but throw on this dress with 120-denier tights and a wool coat, and you’ll be sweating on your walk to the bus stop. Plus, a lot of ’70s pieces have a ’40s feel to them, and I’ve been more drawn to ’40s than ’50s the past few weeks.

greygreenII greygreenV

I’ve worn the dress twice before on the blog, but in meatspace life I actually wear it more like once a week. I repeat: SO WARM. (Though this year’s winter is blessedly milder than most. It’s an El Nino year, so the weather’s funny all around. Still unmistakably Vermont, but we’ve only had, like, three below-zero days this season as opposed to last year’s two dozen. ) Today I’m accessorizing with the hat & gloves I thrifted this weekend. I picked up a couple other vintage hats, too – and all for an absolute song.

greygreenXII greygreenI greygreenVIII greygreenVII greygreenXI greygreenX greygreenIX greygreenXIII greygreenVI greygreenXV

 

 

1 Comment

  1. I LOVE THIS DRESS! 😀 My favorite photo is the 3rd one from the top. Great symmetry and the colors of the brick wall just really “go” with your gloves and gray dress. Sorry. It’s late. My vocabulary is minimal lol

Leave a Reply

