kitschy witchery

poodleVpoodleXI

Would you believe I’ve had this skirt for almost two years and never worn it? Not just “never worn for the blog”. Never. Worn. It’s a few inches too big in the waist, and it’s really hard to take in a circle skirt without ruining the silhouette. I could pin it, like I did for these photos, but going a whole day like that…nah. Still, I’ll never get rid of this beauty. You can’t call yourself a ’50s girl if you don’t own a poodle skirt. It’s a social rule, unspoken but very much enforced.

Just…not this one, please.

poodleX poodleIV poodleI poodleXIII

Skirt: costume shop

Hat: vintage, thrifted

Everything else: thrifted

poodleII poodleIX poodleVII poodleIII poodleXII poodleXIV poodleVIII

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lulu says:

    You’re always so elegant!

  2. So true about that being an unspoken rule in the vintage/pinup fashion world. I’ll always have an immensely soft spot in my heart for poodle skirts. A pink and white gingham one was technically my first foray into the world or repro (long before I, like most people, even knew that term existed) at the tender age of just six years old (thanks to my talented mom and her sewing machine).

    Have a great long weekend,
    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

