and underneath her wimple / she has curlers in her hair

 

curlsXIcurlsXIII curlsIV

So ever since Kristina completed her transformation into a fairy princess, I’ve been craving curls of my own. To be more precise, I’ve been craving them for a long time. ’50s girls need curls; it’s just a fact. But my hair is pin-straight and I am incredibly lazy, so I’d long since resigned myself to simpler hairdos. It was Kristina’s revelation that turned ringlets from pipe dream to God help me, I must have this. 

curlsXXII

So I bought some foam curlers from Drugstore.com. I was seriously doubting they would work: previous experience had shown me that my hair doesn’t hold a curl, period. But there’s something about foam that does it! That, and using dry hair – that made a big difference. I won’t pretend sleeping on the rollers was comfortable, but I was also completely inexperienced at putting them in. Next time I’ll clip the curls higher on my head, so they aren’t smack in the middle of my temple and the pillow.

And lo – I actually think curls suit my face shape better than straight hair does. I haven’t been wearing my glasses lately, but something about the cat-eye looks amazing with chunky curls. I felt rockabilly to a fault. My dad even said I looked “very nice”, and he’s one of those people who wouldn’t notice if I grew an extra arm.

curlsVI curlsVIII curlsXIII

Dress: Tatted Tina’s Designs

Hat & gloves: vintage, thrifted

Everything else: thrifted

curlsXII curlsXVIII curlsXV curlsX curlsXIV curlsXVII

1 Comment

  1. Really lovely! My natural hair (I’ve been a full-time wig wearer for almost 3.5 years now due to medical hair loss) was staggeringly bone straight, fine and resistant to holding a curl, but through many years of trial and error, I came to find that a few things worked well for me: starting with a setting lotion (I have really sensitive skin and usually just made my own from flax seeds), putting my curls (pin, rag, or foam) into damp, not overly wet hair; and letting them dry for no less than 10 hours. Then a light misting of a flexible hold setting spray before, and after, brushing them out into your desired style. With those steps, unless it was super humid, I could usually get 2 – 3 days from a curl set.

    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

