the blues

bluecurlsII bluecurlsVIIIThis was the first vintage hat I ever bought. Twenty bucks at a neighborhood thrift joint, and I was a goner: there was no turning back.  It languished in my Etsy shop for over a year before I saw sense and tucked it back into my personal collection. I’d love to wear it more often, but a piece like this – real fur, guys – demands center stage in whatever outfit it’s lucky enough to complete. A plaid dress from Lucky Dry Goods, plus matching belt & necklace for a pop of kitsch, was just the thing.

As my style evolves toward elegance, my taste in hats grows somehow bolder. A simple day dress, a standout coat, and a veritable monster atop my head? 20 ccs of that, please.

bluecurlsIX bluecurlsVI bluecurlsX

Hat & gloves: vintage, thrifted

Dress: ’50s vintage, via Lucky Dry Goods on Etsy

Coat: ’40s vintage, via Calendar Girl Vintage on Etsy

Necklace, belt, & shoes: thrifted

bluecurlsXVIbluecurlsXII bluecurlsXIX bluecurlsXIII bluecurlsXI bluecurlsXXIII bluecurlsXXI bluecurlsI bluecurlsXXII

 

1 Comment

  1. That hat is a thing of commanding beauty. I can scarcely believe it failed to sell. Clearly though, the vintage powers that be wanted to ensure that it stayed with you and how very kind of them to do, as it’s a stunner.

    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

