me-modified may: red and grey

redgreyVIII redgreyII

This outfit is my standard vintage fare: day dress, practical shoes, nothing fancy. I last blogged this dress less than a month ago, but that’s what staples are for. I wasn’t planning on taking pictures today, but I got antsy sitting at the bus stop and decided to noodle around with my camera. And I love – love – how these photos turned out. Love. Good light and fresh curls can really elevate the everyday.

(Yes, that means I’m sitting here sorting photos at work. Shh.)

It fits (albeit tangentially) my Me-Made theme, too. This dress is vintage, but it was always slightly too big. A few weeks ago I took in the waist, added a zipper, and tucked a few pleats into the neckline – what a difference! The fit is so much smoother.

redgreyXII redgreyV redgreyVI

Shots like these really hammer home how much my photography has improved in the past three years. I mean, look at my first non-webcam blog shoot. I used to snark on bloggers whose photography was too “magazine-esque”, but let’s be real: I was envious. Why is aspiring to express your aesthetic as best you can a bad thing? If it is, I’ll be the crab who gets out of the bucket, and I won’t look back.

redgreyVII redgreyIX

Dress: vintage, via Barge Canal Market

Hat: vintage, via Fancy Lucky Vintage

Gloves: vintage, via Mainly Vintage

Bag: vintage, thrifted

Brooch & belt: thrifted

Shoes: Kmart

redgreyIV redgreyXIII  redgreyXI redgreyV

 

Leave a Reply

