junction jollies

junctionXXV

No outfit today, but I finally got my White River Junction photos uploaded and edited! I took way too many.  I remember being a kid on vacation and bemoaning my mother stopping every few feet to snap away. It took me only two decades and change to turn into her – Josh put a moratorium on photos after the fifth hour of “wait, just one more”.

White River Junction has two things in abundance: spas and meditation centers. I swear I saw at least five of each in the tiny downtown area. It also boasts a truly startling amount of chicken-themed folk art. I’ve never met anyone who loves chickens as much as this town collectively seems to, and I’m not sure I’d want to.

Fortunately, any small New England town is also lined with antiques shops, and exploring them consumed a good 90% of our visit.

junctionIV junctionVII junctionXIjunctionXVII junctionXVI junctionXV

I bought the one on the right!

junctionXX junctionXVIII junctionXXIII junctionVIII junctionXIVjunctionXXIX

We capped off the weekend with three hours in the best vintage store I’ve ever been to. It’s nested inside an antique furniture shop, so it’s hard to find unless you’re looking. But if you’re looking, Mainly Vintage is a magical experience. I mean that as literally as a skeptic can: after picking a rack bare, I’d return to it and find still more gems I hadn’t noticed the first time.

Here is the hat shelf…

junctionXXX

…and the other hat shelf…

junctionXXXI

…and the other other hat shelf.

junctionXXXIIjunctionXXXIII

And, to my astonishment, four vintage bags identical to my own!

junctionXXVII junctionXXVI junctionI

 

Leave a Reply

