me-made may: simplicity 65c

rosesXVIIrosesVII

This dress was a fluke, a quirk, a stroke of luck. Whatever you want to call it, it was never meant to exist – but I’m really, really glad it does.

A week or two ago, I bought a vintage copy of Simplicity 65c for $2 on Etsy. I didn’t realize until after receiving it that this pattern is actually out of print, aka not available anywhere. Seriously, I googled around, and the only result I could find was that one Etsy shop. And I got one of the only existing copies for $2. I feel just a little like I ripped off the seller, but not enough to actually pay more money.

rosesXIV rosesXVI

Shortly thereafter, my mom sent over a big bag of vintage fabric from my grandmother, including an absolutely marvelous gold lace. I thought instantly of my Simplicity, which was due to arrive any day. Simplicity 65c would look perfect in white linen with a gold lace overlay. Given that I’d never used this pattern before, though, and that vintage lace from one’s grandmother is not a material to cut into lightly, I thought I’d make a practice dress. I bought these cabbage-rose curtains years ago at a junk shop, and I decided they’d be perfect. The print is big enough to cover any mistakes – the pattern has a tricky neckline – and the material is so, so soft. This dress will enter heavy rotation once the humidity starts climbing.

rosesVIII rosesXI rosesX

To avoid upstaging the blooms, I went for minimal accessories: pearls, Grecian sandals, and my fur hat from White River Junction. Simplicity indeed.

rosesIV rosesI rosesXX rosesXVrosesXXIrosesXVIII rosesVI  rosesXXII

3 Comments

  1. It’s a work of gorgeous floral art! Marvelous chain of events that lead to this dress coming to be. You must be on sartorial cloud nine right now, my dear (I would be! :)).

    ♥ Jessica

  2. That looks fantastic! I’m totally envious of your ability to see unconventional fabrics like curtains as useful… I’m hopeless when it comes to that.

Leave a Reply

