hatpins & hat pins

lilacsXXXIlilacsVI

For just a few days every spring, the riverside park between Winooski and Burlington clouds with soft perfume. Lilacs are my very favorite flower. They’re in my blood, as family lore holds: my mother got a fresh bouquet in the hospital the day I was born.

Word to the wise: they do not taste anywhere near as good as they smell. Last year I tried to make lilac wine, to the retching of all. At least now I’ve got a whole cask of nail polish remover.

lilacsIV lilacsXXIX

I can’t go swimming yet, what with the new tattoo, but nothing will stop me lazing by the river and hoping. It’s the perfect place to debut some birthday vintage from my mom. The dress is from Etsy, the hat from a little shop near her work. I fell in love with the dress for the buttons, and I’m delighted that the hat matches so perfectly. I honored it with my little silver hat brooch, a hat pin to match my hatpins.

lilacsIX lilacsVII lilacsXVAs of yesterday, I’m Chronically Vintage’s latest featured blogger! Jessica interviews a different vintage lady every month, and I’m the May centerfold. Check out my Deep Thoughts on Maleficent, shirtwaist dresses, and dinner-table fights.

lilacsII lilacsVIII lilacsXI

Dress: ’40s vintage, via Honey Meanie Vintage

Hat: vintage, via brick-and-mortar shop

Brooch, belt, & shoes: thrifted

lilacsXIII lilacsXVIII lilacsXXX lilacsXII lilacsXVII lilacsXIV

 

3 Comments

  1. Fabulous ensemble! I love the button detail on the side of the v-neck here. Charming, unexpected design elements like that are a major part of what draws me to vintage fashion.

    Thank you again for the marvelous interview, dear Skye. It was a joy of no small measure to get to know better and to share more about you, your blog, and your diverse passions with my readers.

    Many hugs & happy Memorial Day weekend wishes,
    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

