shedding

tatXI

I had planned a whole Bettie Page thing for my beach visit on Saturday, but when the mercury shoots up to 90F (32C), one’s retro resolve withers. Hair down, sunglasses in lieu of makeup, no cone bras or garter belts. I rolled down my bikini bottoms to show off my new ink; without the high waist broadcasting my vintage cred, I looked like every other girl on the beach. And sometimes that’s exactly what you need.

Truth be told, I’ve never been a 24/7 vintage girl anyway. My more dedicated counterparts wear pin curls to the gym and silk stockings to bed. I admire them for it, but my loungewear is decidedly loungewear. I wear petticoats to the grocery store, but the minute I’m home, it’s novelty slippers and my boyfriend’s Eagle Scout t-shirt. Gotta turn off the panopticon sometimes.

tatI tatIXtatVIII tatXII tatX tatIIIIMG_5511I was actually falling in that one, believe it or not. Most glamorous trip I’ve ever taken.

tatVI tatXIII tatVII

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SaraLily says:

    I am glad I am not the only one who strips herself of the dress and petti upon arriving home. I get home after work, step into my dressing room, and off it all comes! Right into my PJ’s I go for the night! Haha! Hey, we may look awesome, but we’re not always comfortable 😉

    Great post! Love that you’re confidently showing off your bikini body, girl. WORK IT! 😉

  2. Your ink is fantastic – as is this classic, beautiful swimsuit. Three big cheers that the weather is warm enough on your end to go swimming already. We’re having an usually mind spring here and I actually put the heating on before bed last night (again).

    Have an awesome weekend,
    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

