me-made: the accidental bride

whiteXXIwhiteXVIII

I really didn’t intend this shoot to look so, well, bridal. The dress is much bluer in person, its flowers far more prominent. It’s why I picked the fabric. But at a distance on a hazy day, it’s summer elopement incarnate. That much more so with the hat. I’m used to getting strange looks when I take pictures in public, but with these, I got veritable gawks. With good reason, honestly – I must’ve looked like some would-be Miss Havisham, waiting in vain for a prince to come.

whiteXIV whiteVIII whiteXV

I love the dress, though. Another summer staple. I used a Goodwill bedsheet and Vogue 8789, and it came together beautifully. Definitely the easiest dress I’ve made so far. I added a back zip – pullovers and I don’t get along – and nixed the cummerbund in favor of blue rickrack. And I stitched a decorative button to the point of the V, just ’cause.

The shoulders could use a little cinching, but that’s a quick fix. And my own damn fault for accidentally cutting the neckline to size 22 instead of 20.

whiteX whiteXVII whiteXX

I took these photos in the real-people part of town. Gates, gardens, gentrification. The works. Though I was quite amused to smell something unmistakable drifting through the window of the nearest condo. Even the other half gets stoned.

whiteXII

whiteXIX

Dress: Vogue 8789, made by me

Hat & gloves: vintage, thrifted

Shoes & brooch: thrifted

whiteIV whiteII whiteI whiteV whiteXXIII whiteIII whiteXVI whiteXXII

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

