paying homage

rbIVWhen I first discovered one of my favorite vintage blogs, Polka Polish, this post was the one that officially hooked me. I’d never thought to pair stately brown with a hidden flash of red! When I found this brown vintage dress a few weeks ago, I roped my Malco Modes petticoat and the birthday hat from my mom into a version of my own. And I love it! I hadn’t planned on premiering this particular dress until the fall, but we’ve had an unexpected chilly snap this week. Longer sleeves are just the thing.

rbV rbVIII rbXVIII

Dress: ’50s vintage, via Old Gold

Hat: ’50s vintage, from Mom

Petticoat: Malco Modes, also worn here 

Gloves: vintage, thrifted

Belt & purse: thrifted

Shoes: won in a contest

rbXIXrbXXIV rbIX rbXXrbX rbXV rbXXIrbXXIII

2 Comments

  1. Beautiful outfit! Red and brown has a been a firm favourite of mine for many years, too. I often pair them with flashes of gold and/or brass and/or copper, too, and the duo plays beautifully with sage, aqua, and mustard yellow as well. Just thinking about that palette stirs up so many lovely thoughts of fall for me.

    Have a terrific week!

    xoxo ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

