i would mourn the wicked

gyXVgyIX

Feeling positively Elphabaic in my me-made dress suit. And the hat is pretty Galindafied, don’t you think? The second of my birthday hats from my mom, dubbed a “head thimble” by my partner. I finished off the look with this appropriately garish flea-market brooch. Kristin Chenoweth would be proud.

I’m definitely feeling the musical theater theme today: Hamilton won eleven Tonys on Sunday night! Just short of the all-time high of twelve, but nothing to sneeze at. And it’s all the sweeter for the fact that Lin-Manuel Miranda (composer, playwright, lead) is only 36 years old. As a precocious kid myself, I’ve always instinctively rooted for the young’uns. Watching Jeopardy, I always bet on the player who looks youngest. I feel kinship with wunderkinds. And I really hope I have half as many feathers in my cap when I’m Miranda’s age.

gyI gyII gyXIII

Suit: made by me

Brooch: vintage, via flea market

Hat: vintage, gifted

Shoes: gifted

Petticoat: thrifted

gyVII gyVI gyXVI gyXI gyXIIgyXVIII

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Melanie says:

    I love, love, love your daffodil brooch! The whole outfit is very lovely x

  2. I love your daffodil brooch and handbag! Very lovely! xo

  3. Fabulous outfit! There’s really something about June and summer’s return that puts me squarely in the mood for generous amounts of wearable greens as well. It’s like I want to mimic Mother Nature’s colour palette as much as possible – and all the more so given how woefully short lived the sunny months are in this part of the world.

    xoxo ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

